Late Bloomer…

24 02 2010

I only learned to knit about 6 or 7 years ago. For the longest time, I only knit scarves. I would knit while watching tv, mostly, keeping my hands occupied while half watching/listening to whatever was on screen. To this day, I cannot just sit and watch tv. I must have something else in my hands…and yarn is so much better than snacks. 😉

In the past couple of years I have expanded my knowledge and skill set through trial and error, help from countless web sites and occasionally by attending workshops.

I always seemed to be the one gal in the class who had never knit a sweater. Not surprisingly, I only recently tackled one and it sits in a basket, unfinished; body and half a sleeve done.
It has been over a year since I stepped into a class. I have made plenty of hats, shrugs, mittens, lace shawls and 3/4 of a sweater. My attention span tends to be on the short side so small projects give me the (fairly) instant gratification I crave.

Last Sunday I checked out a class at my LYS and it was great. I was fairly comfortable (for once) with most of the techniques but also learned a new one.

It was a great reminder of how much I have learned and improved over the years.

How I spent my Sunday evening, besides screaming at the tv:

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

